Carrier rescues boys from harm. “I just did what I thought was right”

Omaha, NE, City Carrier Noreen Mintken with Postmaster Keith Reid

Omaha, NE, City Carrier Noreen Mintken with Postmaster Keith Reid

Omaha, NE, City Carrier Noreen Mintken was delivering mail along her route recently when she heard what she thought was a car backfiring. Soon afterward, two young boys came running around the corner yelling, “They have a gun and they’re shooting!”

Mintken yelled for the boys to follow her behind a nearby building. They heard at least six more shots followed by squealing tires.

After several minutes of silence, the boys wanted to go see what happened. Mintken knew that was a dangerous idea. Instead, she walked the boys to the safety of the nearby Boys and Girls Club. Later, a police officer told Mintken she and the boys were just 50 feet away from the shooting.

“I really didn’t think much of it,” said Mintken. “I just did what I thought was right.”

Customer Services Manager Harleynda Wilcox appreciates Mintken’s actions and is gratified to have her on the team.

“As the South Omaha Station Manager, I was proud to hear how one of my carriers helped small children reach safety in the midst of gunfire and confusion that was very close,” said Wilcox.

1 Comment

  1. Pclerk

     /  March 7, 2017

    Noreen, what a wonderful thing you did with your quick and clear-headed thinking. As a postal employee myself, I’d like to thank you for a job well done. I’m proud of you and I’m sure all of your co-workers are as well. Kudos!

