Honoring Extraordinary Heroism: The Service Cross Medals

Service cross medals

Military decorations are a grateful nation’s way of honoring the bravery and achievements of members of the U.S. Armed Forces. Previous stamp issuances have depicted the highest military decoration for valor in combat: the Medal of Honor. Honoring Extraordinary Heroism: The Service Cross Medals recognize the next highest tier of military decorations for valor: the Distinguished Service Cross (Army), Navy Cross (Navy and Marine Corps), Air Force Cross, and Coast Guard Cross.

Each stamp consists of a photograph of one of the four medals suspended from a ribbon and shown against a dark blue backdrop. There are a total of 12 stamps on the sheet, shown in two rows. These decorations are awarded for acts of extraordinary heroism in which an individual braved enemy fire, made bold decisions, and took selfless actions to rescue or protect fellow service members.

The Honoring Extraordinary Heroism: The Service Cross Medals stamp collection is now available for purchase at usps.com/stamps, at 800-STAMP24 (800-782-6724) and at Post Offices nationwide.

Comments are closed.
  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

  • Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: