Sick leave saver drives one million miles without accident

David City, NE, City Carrier Larry Bruns with Postmaster Sherri Helman

David City, NE, City Carrier Larry Bruns with Postmaster Sherri Helman

When David City, NE, City Carrier Larry Bruns began his career with the Postal Service in 1978, he never imagined he would be recognized for his safe, conscientious driving. After 30 years on the road as a carrier, he recently received that recognition from the National Safety Council and he’s now in an elite class of drivers.

Besides being an expert driver, Bruns also became a dedicated sick leave saver. That decision helped both he and his family survive financially during a difficult medical situation.

Five years ago, Bruns was diagnosed with West Nile Virus. Following the diagnosis, Bruns spent the next three months recovering from the illness and was unable to work during this time. If not for the sick leave he had saved, his family’s well-being might have been put in jeopardy.

“I’m so grateful that I had banked my sick leave and to be able contribute to the household budget and care for my wife and two sons,” said Bruns.

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

