Saving lives one donation at a time

York, NE, Postmaster Larry Norquest

York, NE, Postmaster Larry Norquest

Fourteen gallons is enough to fill up a fuel tank for a mid-sized automobile or a small aquarium. It’s also the amount of blood York, NE, Postmaster Larry Norquest has donated in his lifetime.

“I always donate on my lunch hour, and this donation put me at my total lifetime giving of 14 gallons,” said Norquest.

Donated blood is used to support hospital patients during surgery or cancer treatments. It’s also used to support individuals who have suffered severe trauma in an accident, complications during pregnancy, and other life-saving uses.

“He started giving blood when he was a PTF carrier,” said Post Office Operations Manager Dawn Bayer. “Veteran carriers got him to tag along once, and he’s been doing it ever since. He is very involved with his community.”

Comments are closed.
  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

