Lost toddler rescued by concerned carrier

Denver, CO, North Pecos Station City Carrier Robert Batley

Denver, CO, North Pecos Station City Carrier Robert Batley

On March 2, 2016, Denver, CO, North Pecos Station City Carrier Robert Batley came across a frightening sight while on his route. He discovered a toddler wandering around in the median of a road.

According to Batley, several cars passed on either side of the child and didn’t stop. Batley knew he had to act fast to take the child out of harm’s way, so he stopped his vehicle, got out and scooped up the diapered 2-year-old. With the toddler’s parents nowhere in sight, Batley called 911 and waited in a safe area.

The child is now safely back at home, thanks to Batley’s quick thinking.

“It was like a movie, but real. I was just glad I was there,” he said. “I’m happy the child is safe. I never expected something like this to happen in my career.”

1 Comment

  1. grannybunny

     /  April 15, 2016

    Thank God he was in the right place at the right time.

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

