Safe Driving Tips from Experienced Carrier

Wayne, NE, Rural Carrier Terry Karel

Wayne, NE, Rural Carrier Terry Karel

Wayne, NE, Rural Carrier Terry Karel recently celebrated the remarkable achievement of driving for 30 years without a preventable accident. Following his acceptance of the Million Mile Award plaque, Karel had a few words to share with fellow employees:

“When I took the job 47 years ago, I never imagined how important and somewhat dangerous my job would be. As a mailman of 47 years, I have driven around 8 vehicles (not including ones I have borrowed), encountered numerous blizzards, thunderstorms, and as of October 2013, a tornado. Through all the obstacles, I always managed to still deliver smiles to my customers through packages, birthday cards and letters.

“I always find myself to be fortunate to have had friendly faces along the way to help their local postman, whether they had a truck to lend to pull me out or a shovel to dig me out, I was always able to deliver the mail
on time.

“My safety tips are to always check your mirrors, check the weather, stay focused and always be prepared for what’s coming up over that next hill.”

Wayne Postmaster Beth Pasold appreciates Karel’s commitment to safety.

“Terry is very dedicated to the USPS, his customers and to doing his job safely,” said Pasold.

Previous Post

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous

     /  September 15, 2015

    Good advice !

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

