The Gift of Life

Hoxie, KS, Rural Carrier Herb Cressler with his wife Marty

Hoxie, KS, Rural Carrier Herb Cressler with his wife Marty

In February 2010, Hoxie, KS, Rural Carrier Herb Cressler’s wife Marty was diagnosed with leukemia. Fortunately for Marty, her sisters were a bone marrow match and doctors were able to successfully transplant the healthy cells. During her treatments in Denver, CO, hospital staff asked Cressler if he would be willing to be tested and have his name added to the bone marrow registry. Cressler agreed.

“This was the least I could do since I feel indebted for the gift my wife and I received,” said Cressler.

Last month, Cressler discovered that he was a match for a 17-year old boy, and had the opportunity to give the same gift of life that had been provided to his wife five years earlier. Cressler’s selfless donation of bone marrow helped save the boy’s life.

Marty has been in remission since 2012, and both she and her husband are planning a trip to Rome this fall.

“Don’t put off the things you would like to do because tomorrow is not guaranteed,” said Cressler.

Comments are closed.
  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

