Crowdsourced Delivery

smart car

The popularity of crowdfunding websites has grown significantly over the past several years. Many projects such as movies, books, games and more have been funded by individuals interested in donating money to the cause, usually in exchange for a form of compensation directly tied to the success of the project. In a version of the crowdsourcing phenomenon, one particular e-tailer is looking to modify the concept to suit another purpose.

Capitalizing on the proliferation of smartphones, Amazon in developing a mobile application that will allow individuals who want to earn a little extra cash the chance to do so by delivering packages. Designed to cut growing shipping costs for the company, the application will give drivers the opportunity to pick up a package for an Amazon customer and deliver it quickly to its destination. A driver will only receive packages for delivery with destinations that are closely aligned with the driver’s existing plans.

Theoretically, a driver using the application could pick up an Amazon package and deliver it to a customer on the way to work, on the way home from work, or even on the way to a dinner date. While specifics on the application and how it works are still in development, its success hinges largely on consistently reliable drivers and the ability to deliver a product on time.

If it’s successfully executed, do you think Amazon’s croudsourced package delivery could be a prototype delivery model of the future?

Next Post

7 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  July 1, 2015

    so many typos…

  2. so many typos…

  3. grannybunny

     /  July 1, 2015

    I really wouldn’t want my packages delivered by unknown random strangers, assuming they even got delivered at all.

  4. Jonn

     /  July 1, 2015

    I think I’d rather trust a person in uniform driving a postal truck than a dude in a smart car, Bermuda shorts and a tank top popping around to deliver my goods.

  5. hardrik

     /  July 2, 2015

    Even any privatizing happy mad man/woman millionaire democratic or republican idiot should realize that I already have a Constitutionally guaranteed right to Postal Service.
    That means (for the dummies that think for one second that they can trick me into surrendering my rights to the service I am entitled – YES! ENTITLED to), this means that none of us should ever consider ANY roll back in service standards or sanctity of the Mail.
    God Bless my Mail Carrier and God Damn the jerks that are trying to Privatize the USPS!

  6. Anonymous

     /  July 2, 2015

    This is scary – I don’t want my packages delivered by a complete stranger. I want someone who has gone through back ground checks and been employed by the USPS or even our competition to deliver my packages. I hope this is not something that becomes the norm.

  7. Anonymous

     /  July 3, 2015

    This would be a great part time job for retired postal workers !!

