Digital Crystal Ball

Digital crystal ball

For many people, checking email is part of the daily ritual of staying in contact with friends and family, conducting business transactions, and checking the latest ads from frequented website vendors. If one postal organization implements a new program, it could also mean checking your email for a glimpse into future.

Currently in the test phase of development, Real Mail Notification is a new program designed to send Postal Service customers an email notification that contains images of items that will arrive in the mail along with a time of delivery. Images will include actual photos of mail covers such as letters and advertising pieces, not contents included in the items. Email notifications can be accessed on any device a customer would normally view emails, and can be archived or printed as an individual would any other email message.

Enhanced visibility is a vital component of future technological innovations as the demand for greater transparency in transactions continues to increase. Online retailers use similar tools to inform customers when they’ve made a purchase and when an item is shipped from the store. The process not only keeps customers up to date on important activity, it might also help identity fraudulent activity.

If a fraudster conducts a transaction with someone else’s web-based account, the real owner will receive an email regarding the transaction, so long as the fraudster hasn’t changed the email address. Similarly, if a postal customer receives an email that an item will arrive in the mailbox at a certain time, but the item isn’t there when checked later that evening after it should have arrived, a person can take action to determine if it was removed by an unauthorized individual.

As virtual and physical worlds continue to move closer together each year, the public reaps the benefits of the merging realms.

Do you think email notification of soon-to-be-delivered mail will be a valuable tool for you?

6 Comments

  1. grannybunny

     /  June 30, 2015

    For most of my mail, I can wait until I get home to check my mailbox and wouldn’t need the digital notification. However, it would be nice to get a heads-up that a package is scheduled to be delivered that day.

  2. Anonymous

     /  July 1, 2015

    not interested… enough of the junk whether mail or email.

  3. PO Clerk

     /  July 1, 2015

    I think it would be very helpful to have notification of packages that don’t fit in the mailbox and/or for any scanned articles. Especially for an item that requires a signature. For the letters and periodicals I don’t need digital notification.

  4. grannyjanny

     /  July 1, 2015

    I agree with grannybunny for my mail. I can understand the people that use their smart phones, emails daily that this may be a great convenience for them to have this information at their finger tips and enhance our services.

  5. Jonn

     /  July 1, 2015

    I’d enjoy an email telling me what’s inside my mailbox. If there’s nothing there, I don’t have to check. If there’s nothing but ad mail in the box, I don’t have to check if I want to put it off till later. If there’s a billing statement, credit card, or other items a thief can use against me, I’d be darn sure to get the mail when I get home. If someone breaks into my box, I don’t want them to get anything of value.

  6. Anonymous

     /  July 3, 2015

    one word… paperless 😉

