Stamp Out Hunger

Stamp out hunger 2015

The 23rd annual Stamp Out Hunger food drive is coming on this Saturday, May 9. The National Association of Letter Carriers, the National Rural Letter Carriers Association, the Postal Service, Feeding America, and the United Way are teaming up to support American families struggling with hunger.

According to the most recently available information by Feeding America, there were nearly 49 million food insecure people in the United States in 2012, including nearly 16 million children and approximately 4.8 million seniors who often have to make the difficult choice between paying rent, utilities and having enough nutritious food. You can help those in need by placing bagged, non-perishable food items by your mailbox for your letter carrier to pick up on May 9.

More than 72 million pounds of food was collected in 2014, and more than one billion pounds of food has been collected since the program’s inception.

For more information on the food drive event, visit the Stamp Out Hunger Facebook page at:

http://www.facebook.com/StampOutHunger

5 Comments

  1. grannybunny

     /  May 6, 2015

    Postal employees serve America in so many different ways, but — in my opinion — this is one of the very best things we do.

  2. Anonymous

     /  May 7, 2015

    sending a check to your local food bank is a lot easier…

  3. Anonymous

     /  May 7, 2015

    I disagree about sending a check! I feel it’s MUCH easier to grab some stuff from the pantry and place it near the mailbox!! … What is the name of my food bank? What is their mailing address? Where did my envelopes get to? Do I have any stamps left? To whom do I write the check? Oh darn-I need to order more checks!

    • Anonymous

       /  May 8, 2015

      you’re right… too much work to send a check…think of all the revenue that won’t be generated…

  4. Jonn

     /  May 7, 2015

    I agree with food being easier to donate. I usually have extra in the pantry and it’s easy to leave near the mailbox. It’s an awesome thing carriers are doing and I hope they receive lots of donations saturday.

