Albuquerque’s First Female Carrier Retires

Albuquerque carrierIn 1973, Carolyn Gustafson was the second female letter carrier hired at the Naperville, IL, Post Office. Though the position was challenging, she enjoyed the work and stayed in the same office for five years until she decided it was time to move to a warmer climate.

After an exploratory visit, Gustafson decided to make the transition to Albuquerque, NM, in 1978, and in doing so, became the first female letter carrier in the city. She was promoted to customer services supervisor 9 years later and served in other supervisory capacities before eventually becoming the Postmaster of Elephant Butte, NM. On March 3, Gustafson will finish her postal career with 41 years of service.

“I have been blessed with a wonderful career and have come to realize that it is time for me to go,” said Gustafson. ”I have made many friends and will miss everyone.”

1 Comment

  1. Anonymous

     /  March 3, 2015

    Congrats 🙂

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

