Video Games Legends

Video game legends

Video games have thrilled interactive entertainment enthusiasts of all ages for many years. From classic video games powered by emerging hardware to the highly detailed HD graphics of the modern era, gaming entertainment has steadily increased in popularity since its inception. While many are familiar with the most popular gaming icons in the 70s, 80s and 90s, some fans may soon see them on their mailed correspondence.

Irish Post released a new Game Icons stamp series in October featuring well-known classic games. The four-piece stamp collection includes Sonic the Hedgehog, Pac-Man, Space Invaders, and Mario. The popular icons raised the bar in gaming standards and are a staple in any collector’s treasure trove of timeless gaming entertainment. If the new stamps are as well received as their electronic counterparts, the collection will offer a tangible opportunity for gaming and philatelic enthusiasts to relive the nostalgia of fond digital entertainment memories.

If the U.S. Postal Service introduced a similar stamp series, what game icon do you think should be included?

Next Post

11 Comments

  1. grannybunny

     /  December 30, 2014

    Pac Man should definitely be included. It is the highest-grossing video game of all time, taking in the most quarters at machines, plus all the millions earned from licensed merchandise. Ms. Pac Man was my game, though.

  2. P O clerk

     /  December 31, 2014

    Without a doubt Pac Man! And the Mario Brothers games were also very popular. And what about Zelda?

    • grannybunny

       /  December 31, 2014

      Zelda would be great. I loved when my grandson got into that series. It has such positive, honorable, non-violent, values. The graphics are great, too, and it teaches kids to read music and remember the melodies for the various ocarina songs. Mario would definitely have to be in there, too; Nintendo started a veritable revolution.

  3. USPSmom

     /  December 31, 2014

    Why not do what the USPS did with the Batman stamp sheets. Put a different video game representing different decades. Maybe start with an Atari game, such as space invaders, then Pac Man, Mario Brothers, Halo, etc.

  4. Anonymous

     /  January 5, 2015

    PONG – ha. Who would even recognize that as a video game? 🙂

  5. grannybunny

     /  January 5, 2015

    Those of us old enough to remember Pong recognize it as a video game — the very first one, in fact — followed by Asteroids, etc.

  6. Jonn

     /  January 6, 2015

    I’ve always loved the classic video games, and I still have my old Atari 2600, NES, and Genesis in the garage. I think it might be time to revisit some old friends. I’d definitely pick up a couple set of classic game stamps if offered for sale – one for sending mail and the other for my collection of course. 🙂

    • grannybunny

       /  January 6, 2015

      Jonn, you could probably make some money off those old consoles on eBay, plus you can use the Atari to play the ET games they dug out of the landfill. Wish I still had my old Colecovision; it had absolutely the best graphics. And the included Adam Computer was awesome!

      • Jonn

         /  January 6, 2015

        I never had a Colecovision, but I did read about the ET games. Bad or not, I wouldn’t mind trying it out. I found my old TurboGraphics 16 in the garage. The cartridges are the size of credit cards and the graphics were pretty cool. I think I’ll have to see if the console works for…research purposes. Yeah, that’s it. I need to make sure it still works in case I eventually decide to ebay it or the other consoles. 🙂

        Did you keep any of your other consoles?

  7. grannybunny

     /  January 6, 2015

    Jonn, I still have a Game Cube that my son and I still play for that really-great Monopoly game Nintendo put out. For example, the game allows you to sell off a property, but retain futures (for up to 9 additional rents on the property) or immunities (from paying rent up to 9 times, plus, you can give other players immunity, too). It adds a whole other dimension to Monopoly. You can make alot of other fun changes, too.

    • Jonn

       /  January 6, 2015

      I never got the Game Cube, but I do love Monopoly. I think I’d enjoy trying that version of it. I’d probably have better odds of winning than I do at the McDonalds version, and more fun too. A similar game is Cashflow by Robert Kiyosaki. That one gets into stocks, bonds, rental properties and more. Lots of fun and educational too.

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

