You Can Make a Difference in the Lives of Others

Wendy Reinholz

Everyone has a chance to make a difference in the lives of others, and it doesn’t require herculean effort to be a positive influence. Molt, MT, Postmaster Wendy Reinholz had the benefit of many helpful individuals willing to help her succeed in her job as a new employee with the Postal Service.

The following is her story.

“I came to my position in a non-traditional way. I was hired in July 2013 as a PSE for the Molt, MT, unit. While I was in my new employee orientation in August the position of Postmaster was posted. I was hired as Postmaster after never having worked a single day, except for the training. I became the Postmaster effective September 26, 2013.

“I am extremely proud to be part of this organization. I work in a Post Office in the middle of miles and miles of wheat fields and cattle. It is a unique situation and not suitable for everyone. I love that i learn something new every day. I know that I can most likely find an answer and usually it’s only a phone call away. Every single person I have asked a question of has been willing to answer my question and pass along their own experiences and knowledge. I have been encouraged to call anytime, have been given guidance and advice and have often been given the tools to help me figure things out on my own. I appreciate the confidence and support I have received from the very first day.

“There are so many parts of this job and I still feel like there are questions I didn’t even know to ask. Each day is a challenge and an opportunity. All new employees need to know that help is just a phone call away. If we don’t have an answer right then, we can find out where to find it; don’t be afraid to ask the question!”

4 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  October 24, 2014

    Kudos to you … my supervisor should take a lesson … he doesn’t have the answers to any of our questions…

  2. Sad Soon To Be Unemployed

     /  October 24, 2014

    I’m very happy for this Postmaster (PM) but it’s kinda bittersweet to me also. I have worked in the Postal Service for 30 years as of July ’14. My father was PM for over 20 years and my mother was his clerk for most of that time. When my father retired my mother applied for the position and got the job as PM. At that time the clerk position changed to PMR which allowed her to hire me after a couple of years. So I have been in the Postal Family since I was 6 years old and I am now 60. So I’ve said all that to say this – WHY is the Postal Service hiring all these new employees and applying the RIF to the foundation of this Postal Service??? As of January 10, 2015 on the Wonderful PostPlan I will not longer be a Postal employee!!! I will be tossed aside like a old boot!!! Granted I was a PMR for 17 1/2 years and PM as December 01, 2014 for 13 years but for the years I was a PMR I had to be available 24/7 to work. SO new employees don’t ever think your job can’t go away. I never in a hundred years would have thought the Postal Service was not a SECURE job but oh how wrong I was.

  3. Jonn

     /  October 24, 2014

    Sorry about your job, Sad. It’s sounds like it’s a pretty good one. Is there another position you can go to in the PO to stick around for a while longer?

  4. Anonymous

     /  October 25, 2014

    Sorry too 😦
    The USPS is hiring people for jobs not careers.
    What they mostly get in return are people who do the job with no work ethic…it stinks …
    Good luck and enjoy your retirement (at least from the PO !).

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

