Farewell Salute to 57-year Employee

NALC Branch 79 President JoAnn Pyle congratulates Jerry Jonason, second from the right, on his retirement after 57 years as a Letter Carrier in Seattle. To his right is his wife and to his left is their son.

NALC Branch 79 President JoAnn Pyle congratulates Jerry Jonason, second from the right, on his retirement after 57 years as a Letter Carrier in Seattle. To his right is his wife and to his left is their son.

Fifty-seven years ago, Jerry Jonason walked into a Seattle post office to begin a new job as a letter carrier with no thought in his mind about how long he might remain.

“I was 18 at the time and needed a job,” Jonason explained. “I passed the test and got hired. I had no idea about how long I would stay with it. I didn’t like walking so the first chance I had after making regular I bid onto a mounted route.”

Jonason was saluted by his fellow employees at Seattle’s Bitterlake Station, where he finished his career, and many people who retired ahead of him.

“I will miss these people as well as many of the customers on my route that I’ve gotten to know over the years,” he said.

Jonason said he has no special plans for retirement other than to visit the Philippines where he owns a house.

3 Comments

  1. Grannybunny

     /  October 10, 2014

    Carrying mail must be the proverbial Fountain of Youth. There’s no way this guy looks 75 years old! More power to him, and may he have a long and joyful retirement.

  2. Jonn

     /  October 10, 2014

    He looks 10-15 younger than he is. That’s awesome. I’ll have to consider a move to Seattle before I get too many wrinkles. The city seems to slow the aging process.

  1. Farewell Salute to 57-year Employee - Ruralinfo.net Postal News
  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

