Celebrity Chefs

Celebrity Chefs

The five chefs honored on these stamps revolutionized our understanding of food. Seeing cooking as a source of delight, they invited us to feast on regional and international flavors and were early but ardent champions of trends that many foodies now take for granted. As they shared their know-how, they encouraged us to undertake our own culinary adventures.

These stamps feature digital illustrations depicting the five chefs in a style meant to resemble oil paintings. The selvage design is intended to represent a white china plate resting on a fine linen tablecloth.

The Celebrity Chefs stamp set is available today as First-Class Mail Forever stamps by going to USPS.com.

3 Comments

  1. grannybunny

     /  September 26, 2014

    I realize that the stamps are the story, but I always wish that USPS would show pictures of the entire pane. The selvages surrounding most of our stamps are extremely creative and add much value — appearance-wise, if not financial — to the issue.

  2. Jonn

     /  September 30, 2014

    I’ve seen some really cool items on the borders of stamp sheets like the medal of honor and civil war sheets. When I pick up stamps, I kinda look forward to seeing what the border design is, like a surprise.

  3. grannybunny

     /  October 1, 2014

    Good point, Jonn. The Civil War selvages are a sterling example of the whole being greater than the sum of its parts. And the Medal of Honor and Harry Potter selvages transformed the panes into actual folios, in my opinion.

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

