Wobbling to Safety

Wobbling to safety

The following story was sent in by Portland, OR, Transportation and Networks Supervisor Rocky Long.

“My hunting party was in Oregon’s Hells Canyon area on the Imnaha River above Indian Crossing.

“When we arrived at the spot we were going to set up, I noticed this new-to-the-world calf elk laying in a clump of grass. This was not the place for this little guy as we had fresh tracks and sign of a large cougar in the area.

“The mother was up the hill about 300 yards so we encouraged this little bull elk to get up and go to her. He wobbled and stumbled to get his footing but managed to get started up the hill to his mother, with a little help, and they both vanished over to the top of the ridge safely.”

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

