Labor of love

Labor of love

Walking her route each and every workday is nothing new for Mitchell, SD, City Carrier Shawn Patton. Doing so until the day before she gave birth was a labor of love.

Patton normally walks her nearly 12 mile route carrying the weight of her satchel and the bundles of joy contained inside. For the past nine months, she added her own bundle of joy to the mix, carrying her unborn child with her along her route.

While her pregnancy didn’t impact her ability to do her job, she did have her concerns.

“I was a little nervous that my water would break while I was on my route,” said Patton. “But that never happened.”

After caring for both her customer’s mail and her own unborn child throughout her pregnancy, Patton finally gave birth to Gwenivere Rose Patton early in the morning on Jun 14.

Patton will spend the next two months with her newborn daughter to enjoy quality bonding time. After that, she looks forward to returning to her route and loyal customers.

“I am excited to go back because I do like my job,” said Patton.

3 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  July 10, 2014

    Congrats ….but I find it hard to believe that your job was not impacted…ex: lifting heavy parcels and mail trays…
    Stay home with the kiddo – that would be the most important job any mother can do…you will never get the time back.
    My wife wanted to stay home after the first one arrived – it was the smartest decision we have ever made !
    I do understand that not everyone can do that tho !
    Good luck nonetheless 🙂

  2. anonymous

     /  July 10, 2014

    Congratulations. Many of our carriers here have worked up until the day before they gave birth. Currently, we have one carrier 8 months along who hopes to make it until right before giving birth. Although not a carrier but a clerk, working nights at a processing plant, I also finished up my work week on a Friday then gave birth the following Monday morning.
    The commenter above is unrealistic – most mothers have to work even if they want to stay home; some mothers want to go back to work and not be a full time mother. There is nothing wrong with that.

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

