Sunday Delivery Service Launched

Amazon box

USPS has launched a new Sunday package delivery service, with Amazon as its first customer.

The Postal Service began delivering packages to Amazon customers Sunday, Nov. 10, to nearly 1,000 ZIP Codes in 13 postal districts, primarily in the Los Angeles and New York metropolitan areas.

With this new service, USPS will deliver packages seven days per week in some of the nation’s largest markets.

PMG Pat Donahoe said the Postal Service’s new offering is focused on serving customer needs in the busy online world. “As online shopping continues to increase exponentially, the Postal Service is very pleased to be able to offer shipping services that will help mailers and customers alike appreciate the benefits of using the U.S. Mail,” he said.

USPS is launching this service in time for this year’s holiday season. The Postal Service continues to deliver Priority Mail Express on Sundays — as well as holiday packages during the peak holiday mailing weeks in December — in major metropolitan areas.

The Amazon Sunday service is based on a negotiated service agreement with USPS. Amazon brings Parcel Select packages to designated postal facilities Sunday mornings.

4 Comments

  1. Grannybunny

     /  November 18, 2013

    It would be interesting to know how many parcels were delivered that first Sunday.

  2. Jonn

     /  November 20, 2013

    When I order from Amazon, I usually order on the weekends. I’m not in the test delivery area, but if this expands, does it mean I can order something Saturday night and have the item start its trip to my home on Sunday? That would be awesome in getting it sooner, but only if I don’t have to pay extra. I usually pick the free shipping option, so as long as it’s included, I’m all for it.

  3. I am a carrier and have delivered on Sunday (our 2nd Sunday). The first Sunday my co-worker had 24 parcels. The Sunday I delivered I had 59 parcels. Its pretty cool actually! About 10 carriers from surrounding offices met at the HUB office at 8am. Clerks were still sorting. The machine is neat. Has a huge scanner above. So clerk just puts parcel underneath it…and a female voice tells which Route and which number package it is. Clerk writes number on the box, and puts in appropriate route buggy.
    Routes have printed turn by turn directions…..all in order (that number on the parcel). So carriers load the truck in number order…and deliver to several towns!
    I actually had fun doing this!! …..and best of all ~ the customers reactions to seeing the PO out delivering their parcels on Sunday!!! Everyone I came into contact with was pleased!!
    I think this is a WIN WIN thing!!!

    • Jonn

       /  November 25, 2013

      That’s awesome, Starlene! Thank you for sharing this.

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

