Rare Right-Side Up Opportunity for Special Inverted Stamp

Jenny Flies Again

Hello all, Benny here.

Recently, the Post Office reissued one of my favorite stamps of all time – the Inverted Jenny. We didn’t have airplanes back in my day, but I sure could have used one to get around on all those long trips.

While I like the new stamp, the idea of actually flying upside down is enough to make my hair stand on end. Well, what little is left anyway. Maybe that’s why the Post Office decided to place 100 right-side up Jenny sheets into the collection.

100 correctly oriented sheets of Jenny’s were printed and added into the rest of the batch of inverted Jenny’s. If you’re interested in buying one of these rare sets though, you won’t find it easy to do. Each stamp set is wrapped in such a way as to mask its contents, preventing someone from figuring out if a right-side up Jenny is within their grasp.

The Post Office printed 2.2 million sheets of the upside-down version of the stamp, and I’ve already picked up my copy. Sadly though, I didn’t get one of the right-side up versions. That’d certainly be a real treat, wouldn’t it? I can just imagine the thrill of getting one of only 100 of the special versions. I still enjoy my version of the stamp though, and it’s a great addition to my collection. If you happen to be the lucky recipient of one of the upright versions of the stamp, would you mind sending me a note about it and maybe even a photo too? I’d love to hear about your good fortune!

Well folks, I think I’m going to check out the beyondtheperf.com website to see what other stamps sets are coming up. They’ll make great stocking stuffers this December, and I’m not one to wait till the last minute to do my shopping. Not all the time at least.  🙂

Take care!

 

Benny

Previous Post
Comments are closed.
  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

