The Battle of Lake Erie

f-2013-battleoflakeerie

Hello all, Benny here. I thought you might want to know about a new stamp the Postal Service released today that offers an inspiring message of perseverance.

Back in 1812, the United States declared war on Great Britain principally due to severe trade restrictions and the forcible drafting of American merchant sailors into the Royal Navy. During that year, the USS Constitution engaged the HMS Guerriere in a famous battle that earned the American warship the nickname, “Old Ironsides.” I picked up a sheet of the USS Constitution commemorative stamps last year for my personal collection. They’re still available if you want to pick up a sheet for yourself too.

The artwork on the new stamp involving the Battle of Lake Erie is just as inspiring as the USS Constitution. In 1813, Oliver Hazard Perry’s flagship the Lawrence was badly damaged in battle, and he was forced to transfer his command to the Niagara. It was aboard the Niagara that Perry continued the fight against British forces and went on to defeat the British ships Detroit and Queen Charlotte. Perry’s famous quote, “We have met the enemy and they are ours,” came from a report on the successful battle in a letter to General William Henry Harrison.

The Battle of Lake Erie stamp features Oliver Perry transferring from the Lawrence to the Niagara. The inspiring image reminds me that while we may have setbacks from time to time, perseverance through difficulty can lead to victory. I hope you’re as moved by the events behind the image as I am.

I’m going to order a sheet of these stamps for my personal collection. If you plan on doing the same, be sure to leave a comment below. I’d love to hear about your thoughts on the new stamp and what it means to you.

Until next time!

 

Benny

Next Post
Comments are closed.
  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

