Sporting Sponsors

Sporting Sponsorships

Sponsorships have been around longer than most athletic competitions. Getting a product, concept, or idea in front of the public eye is a good way to promote the repetition of a brand name. To harness the full potential of those observations with the hope of converting them into revenue-generating actions by sports fans, one shipping company has taken a diversified approach to sporting sponsorships.

FedEx has had a strong interest in sponsoring sporting events for many years. Recently, the company renewed its partnership with the National Football League, extending sponsorship for another four years. The company also participates in the sponsorship of the National Basketball Association, PGA Tour, and profession auto racing.

Sport sponsorship has helped FedEx place its brand name in front of NFL fans since 2000. The company hopes that whenever someone thinks about shipping after watching the competition between two profession teams, FedEx is the name that comes out as the winner.

Do you think sporting sponsorships enhance a company’s brand name?

6 Comments

  1. Jonn

     /  July 18, 2013

    I love NFL games, and I see a lot of sponsors. I just wish the league would use some of that extra money to help lower the cost of concessions. Ticket prices are bad enough, but $8.00 for a hot dog? Get real. And their new ban on bringing in bags other than small clear totes is meant to stop people from getting around those high prices by bringing in their own food. I stopped going to games a few years ago because of their high prices, but I used to love watching games in person. If I have to choose between going to a game (tickets, parking, concessions) and making my house utility payment, I’ll just stay at home and watch it on TV.

    Does anyone else feel this way or is it just me?

  2. Anonymous

     /  July 19, 2013

    You are in good company 🙂
    I feel the same way… it’s not family friendly when you can’t afford to take the family 😦

  3. Postal worker

     /  July 19, 2013

    I agree with you John. The costs have gone sky high and that has taken the fun out of sporting events. We used to enjoy a baseball game or two but not anymore. We too stay home and watch on TV. Now having said that, I do believe sporting sponsorships certainly do get a business name “out there”. I can’t say if that enhances that business or not.

  4. postal mama

     /  July 19, 2013

    USPS tried sponsorship once – a racing team on the Tour de France.

    • later skater

       /  July 19, 2013

      I agree with postal mama, it worked so well for us on the Tour de France, yeh, right.

  5. Anonymous

     /  August 2, 2013

    Sport sponsorship is just another form of advertising. How effective is any specific advertising campaign? Without doing extensive polling, no one can tell. … in conversation recently, the person I spoke with commented derisively on how USPS sponsored the bicycle rider. Seems to me they weren’t making a clear distinction between our current multi-billion-dollar loss situation and the business climate at the time of the actual sponsorship. At any rate, that’s what I pointed out: it’s advertising.

