Who Should Pay for Damaged Packages?

Who Should Pay

When shipping a moderately expensive item, many people choose to add insurance to their package. If that insured package is damaged in transit, who should pay for it? The answer – it depends.

Recently, an individual shipped a malfunctioning laptop back to the manufacturer for repairs. At some point during transit with UPS, the package was damaged and the laptop’s screen was cracked. The laptop’s owner attempted to receive reimbursement for the damage, but the shipper denied the claim.

The basis for UPS’s denial stemmed from the initial deposit of the item at a company store. An employee offered the company’s repackage services, but the customer declined. When the customer later submitted his claim, UPS stated that the laptop was improperly packaged and wouldn’t cover the damage. The customer argued that the laptop was packaged properly and that UPS should honor the insurance claim.

Based on your experience, do you think the insurance claim filed by the customer should be honored?

4 Comments

  1. ELDEE34

     /  July 18, 2013

    UPS SHOULD PAY THE CLAIM, BECAUSE IF IT WASN’T PACKED CORRECT THE ANGENT SHOULD NOT HAVE ACCEPTED IT.

  2. Postal worker

     /  July 18, 2013

    I have to agree with ELDEE34. But I can sympathize with the clerk. Most people think their packaging is just fine when in fact it isn’t and it is very hard to explain to the public why they need more fill, bubble wrap, tape or more. I have always thought that in order for us to accept a package with insurance over $200 that we should have to package it for the customer (and of course charge for that service).

  3. postal mama

     /  July 18, 2013

    From what I remember about the original story: the customer purchased and used UPS shipping products, which was the reason the customer denied the offer to repackage it. He also paid for additonal insurance. UPS did not have a problem charging and accepting payment for additonal insurance, only with paying out when the item was damaged in transit.

  4. Jonn

     /  July 18, 2013

    I’ve only had one issue with receiving a damaged item in the mail, and it wasn’t the shipping company’s fault. The guy that sold me the used item placed it in the box pre-smashed. I got the money back that I paid for the item through ebay, so I wasn’t out the money I paid. I’ve received a lot of packages through USPS, and all the stuff in them came in perfect condition. Well, except for that ebay item. Anybody want to buy a smashed pewter model? 🙂

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

