Postal Employee Hobbies

Photo by Daniel Jurgens

Photo by Daniel Jurgens

Vintage base ball player Daniel Jurgens eyes the pitcher. He watches the opposing player’s carefully calculating eyes, the position of his fingers on the ball, and the angle of his windup. With every ounce of might he can muster, the pitcher snaps the ball toward home. Jurgens adjusts the angle of his bat, pivots his body toward the field, and swings for the ball racing in his direction. ‘Crack!’ The bat slams with tremendous force into the small sphere, sending it soaring across the field.

That’s a day in the weekend life of postal employee Daniel Jurgens during baseball season. Jurgens plays for the Vintage Base Ball League, a group of players dedicated to reliving classic rules and customs of baseball as the game was played in the 19th century.

“I play for the pure joy I get from the game and meeting other people to teach them the rich history of our National Pastime,” said Jurgens. “We all need a hobby and this is my biggest.”

Baseball isn’t the only hobby enjoyed by postal employees around the nation. Hiking, biking, surfing, bowling, and thousands more activities are enjoyed every week.

When it’s time to put aside that postal uniform and sport a set of weekend clothes, what type of activity will you enjoy?

3 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  May 30, 2013

    Target practice and competitive shooting.

  2. Anonymous

     /  May 30, 2013

    I enjoy motorcycling. And exchanging postcards worldwide using postcrossing.com

  3. Jonn

     /  May 30, 2013

    I enjoy gaming myself on the weekends, though I wouldn’t mind taking up archery. I remember trying to pull a bow string back on a compound bow in high school…and not being able to budge it! I haven’t tried since, though I’ve gained a few pounds now and I might…might…be able to do it.

    Exchanging postcards sounds like fun and much less expensive than some other activities. I’ll look into it. Thanks!

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

