Stories to Tell

Stories to tell

Most postal employees can recall one or more interesting stories that happened during their careers. While many of those experiences are freely shared with others, there is also a silent postal force that has kept their adventures to themselves.

Postal vehicles have dutifully driven their appointed rounds for many years. These silent partners in the Postal Service are there day in and day out to support those that depend on them for unwavering support.

If postal vehicles could share their colorful tales from the road, their stories would likely fill a small library.

Thinking about the history of the vehicle pictured above, what kind of story do you believe it would be most interested to tell?

Previous Post

7 Comments

  1. Michelle

     /  April 30, 2013

    That is probably the vehicle I was driving when I was carrying mail in Denver in 1994. Letter Carriers know, wind is not your friend. The wind can take your mail and create havoc and increase your delivery time. If the mail was dropped or blown around you were required to sort it back to walk sequence. As I was loading my vehicle one sunny morning I saw a long, thick rope attached to the inside handle of the back door. I thought it had to be there for a reason, so I left it and proceeded to load the Jeep. It was a beautiful Saturday in Cherry Creek North and I had just left the station with a Jeep full of mail that probably amounted to about 25 feet. I was delivering one of my floater routes located in the shopping district and was driving West down 1st Avenue, which is the main thoroughfare through Cheery Creek. I was traveling approximately 35 MPH when inexplicably the back door of the Jeep just flung open for no apparent reason! I looked back and all I could see was the car behind me and the road. I officially freaked out! But then I saw the long string blowing in the wind. Thatโ€™s when I realized this has happened to somebody else before and was the reason for the string. I was in the middle lane of a three lane road and there were cars all around, so I could not just pull to the side of the road and close the door. Not to mention the wind that started to envelop the Jeep and started to blow my mail, which was tightly secured with large rubber bands thank goodness. But it was so windy I started having visions of mail flying all over 1st Avenue with the Postal Inspectors paying me a visit. This is when everything started to move in slow motion. With amazing dexterity I reached my go-go-gadget, stretch arm all the way to the back of the Jeep door with just my pinky on the steering wheel and my big toe on the gas pedal. I could swear the man in the car behind me was laughing but I had to concentrate on that darn string. If I could catch the string I would be able to slam the door shut. I was stretched to the limit and the string kept alluding my grasp. I thought I was either going to have an accident or wet my pants. When all of a sudden the string magically landed in the palm of my hand and I grabbed onto it with all of my might. The wind was pushing on the door working against me and struggled for a couple seconds before I finally got the door to shut. This all happened in the space of about 30 seconds but felt like an eternity. After I got the door shut I pulled off of 1st Avenue onto Adams Street and laughed/cried for a bout 10 minutes! There were no cell phones at the time, so I could not call anybody and share in my discontent. So, after I collected myself I got back in the same vehicle and completed my appointed rounds without experiencing another mishap. Something I will never forget and still laugh about to this day!

    • Anonymous

       /  May 1, 2013

      Thank you for such a great Postal Employee story! You put a smile on my face.

  2. Grannybunny

     /  May 1, 2013

    Gee, I was thinking that it was the Jeep I almost rolled when I hit one of the buttons marking off a left turn lane during my Postal driving test, but I like Michelle’s story better! I was temporarily distracted by the discovery that the one I was driving had virtually zero braking power, which may be why the Driving Instructor took pity on me and didn’t flunk me for that single mishap (or maybe it was because he had waited until the very last second to tell me to turn)! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Anonymous

     /  May 1, 2013

    great story Michelle!

  4. Michelle

     /  May 1, 2013

    Glad you enjoyed my little story but have lots more stories to share and perhaps this is my vehicle…pun intended ๐Ÿ™‚ I have more stories about the old Jeeps too and lots about dogs!!!

    • Anonymous

       /  May 2, 2013

      Good story ๐Ÿ™‚ It certainly brings back a few memories for me after looking at the pic and reading Michelle’s story !

      I had one of those jeeps for about a year, acquired a second one for the parts.
      1st one was mechanically good (after sinking money into it!) and body poor.
      2nd one was just the opposite – if I could’ve put the 2 together, I would have had them longer but bought a new, more reliable 4wd route vehicle! Piece of mind for the snowstorms!

      On a few occasions that old jeep engine would cut out when I went around a corner but would always start up again. I found out that the body was pinching the wires on the frame and shorting it out. Easy fix but costly to find the problem !!

      I remember loading it up at Christmas time and I thought it was going to tip over since it was so top heavy with all the mail. I am still amazed at the amount of mail I had put in that death trap !!

      Another time a neighborhood dog hopped in and kept me company while I delivered the mail. I dropped him off on the retrace about an hour later! He was happy as all get out to get a scenic ride !!

      The door track was worn and sometimes the door didn’t always stop when it was suppose to… only once did the door wind up on the ground !!

      And one more… I had bought my jeep from the regular who had retired. The supervisor thought it was great that he was retiring and the jeep would be gone because it leaked oil. in the parking area. Well he wasn’t thrilled at all when he found out I had bought it !!

      Ahh… thanks for jogging my memory ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Jonn

     /  May 6, 2013

    Wow, I love these stories! The true history of USPS is so much better than what I see on TV. Thanks for brightening my day!

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

