Appleicious

Seattle District Manager Yul Melonson showcases the new Apples stamp issue.

Seattle District Manager Yul Melonson showcases the new Apples stamp issue.

Hi all, Benny here. I recently read about the releases of the new Apples stamps by the Postal Service, and I thought I would share it with you.

The delicious morsels featured on the new stamps were released on January 27 in Yakima, WA. The set features four different types of apples including Granny Smith, Golden Delicious, Baldwin, and Northern Spy. Some folks may not know it, but the Northern Spy apples make some of the best pies and apple cider I’ve ever tasted. It’s also loaded with vitamin C, and with that flu bug floating around out there, it sure wouldn’t hurt to have an extra apple or two.

Of course, any of the apples in the stamp series would make a fantastic snack between meals. Just don’t try to eat the stamps, no matter how appealing they might look. I find myself drawn to the delicious goodness as I write this, so if you don’t mind, I’m going to run to the store to pick up a few before my stamp collection falls short by one or two.

Enjoy the new collection, folks. I know I will.

 

Benny

3 Comments

  1. Grannybunny

     /  January 23, 2013

    Does anyone know which apple is which? I recognize the Golden Delicious and Granny Smith, but not the Baldwin or Northern Spy ones.

  2. postal mama

     /  January 24, 2013

    Grannybunny, according to usps.com: “Some of America’s favorite varieties of this popular fruit are shown in these four stamps, each depicting a different kind: the bright-red Baldwin, the green Granny Smith, the yellow Golden Delicious, and the multi-colored Northern Spy. ” My guess is that the upper left apple is the Northern Spy and the bottom right is the Baldwin. I agree with you, though, it would be better if the apple varieties were more obvious.

    • Grannybunny

       /  January 24, 2013

      Thanks; it’s important to “know one’s apples!”

  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

