The Very First USPS Christmas Stamp

Hello all, Benny here. The Postal Service recently released the latest version of its holiday stamp collection, and I think you’ll find it a real treat. It includes a delightful depiction of Santa Claus circling in the sky above snow-covered rooftops, guided by his eight trusty reindeer.

We had something similar to Santa’s sleigh in my time – only the sleighs we used had wheels on them and were pulled by sturdy horses. They didn’t fly overhead either, though I remember moving at a pretty good clip a time or two when I was late to one meeting or another. I always pushed those things off until the last minute.

Since we’re getting into the holiday spirit, I thought I’d share with you a little history on the first Christmas stamp issued by the Postal Service. Back on November 1, 1962, the Post Office Department issued its first Christmas stamp following several years of successful holiday themed stamp sales. Customers had been requesting a Christmas stamp for some time, so it was a welcomed sight when it was introduced.

Not everyone was happy with the decision to introduce a Christmas stamp, though, and some attempted to prevent the Post Office from releasing it. After some debate, the stamp was released to overwhelming support and success. By the end of 1962, the Post Office had sold one billion of the festive stamps.

I’ll be picking up my 2012 holiday stamps today, so I can mail out my cards before the deadline on the 20th. I’ll also be keeping a few stamps for my own personal collection so I can continue to enjoy them for many years to come. I hope you’ll join me in doing the same.

Until next time!

 

Benny

Comments are closed.
  • Hello, I'm Benny the Blogger: I'm the world's most famous postal employee. My hobbies are snappy quotes, kite flying and publishing. I was born Jan. 17, 1706, but don't call me old.

  • Subscribe to Your Postal Blog today and join in on the discussion.

  • Click on the earphones above to listen to the latest edition of Your Postal Podcast.

  • Click on the image above to download the latest edition of the USA Philatelic Catalog

  • Want to take Your Postal Blog with you on the go? Click the QR code below and go mobile.

